Converter South Korean won

7 8 9
4 5 6
1 2 3
0 . convert

Currency Of Republic Of Korea

Use of the converter

Enter the amount to convert at the top and choose a second currency., You can also get the history of the price rate by clicking on the "convert" button., If you want to see the parity of the KRW currency with other currencies, go to the table " South Korean won exchange rate" below. , The last update to the Mataf KRW Currency Converter is dated from

The corean Won

Won means "round" in Korean, like Yen in Japanese or Yuan in Chinese, the names of the currencies of Korea's neighboring countries. There is no need to seek any less obvious source than that of their roundness to explain the naming tradition of these coins.

The Korean banknotes are illustrated with very detailed and intricate designs. The faces of the banknotes display portraits of illustrious historical figures, who are totally unknown elsewhere in the world. On the 5,000 Won bill, there is the portrait of a certain gentleman by the name of ||, | being his first name and | his family name. This gentleman is a 16th century Korean sage, who learned to write in Chinese at the age of 3 and composed poems at the age of 7.

The Won is subdivided into 100 Jeons, but few of these are in circulation in Korea because of the extreme devaluation of the Won. 10,000 Wons today are worth no more than 6.8 Euros. This means that Koreans tend nowadays to carry bundles of notes rather than a purse of loose change. The current issue of the 50 Won coin is decorated with hibiscus, the emblem of South Korea symbolizing perseverance and determination.

Exchange rate - South Korean won

currency South Korean won 1 KRW =
Philippine peso 1 KRW = 0.0445 PHP
Indonesian rupiah 1 KRW = 11.8965 IDR
Indian rupee 1 KRW = 0.0577 INR
Malaysian ringgit 1 KRW = 0.0038 MYR
Bangladeshi taka 1 KRW = 0.0722 BDT
Tanzanian shilling 1 KRW = 1.9972 TZS
Vietnamese đồng 1 KRW = 20.2707 VND
Sri Lankan rupee 1 KRW = 0.1370 LKR
Bytecoin (BCN) 1 KRW = 0.3606 BCN
Zambian kwacha 1 KRW = 8.2991 ZMK
Botswana pula 1 KRW = 0.0092 BWP
Bitcoin 1 KRW = 0.0000 BTC
Zambian kwacha 1 KRW = 0.0083 ZMW
ECU 1 KRW = 0.0008 XEU