Currency of Poland: Polish zloty zł


The Polish Zloty is the currency of Poland. The code of Polish zloty is PLN. We use as symbol of Polish zloty. The Polish Zloty is divided in 100 grosz. PLN is regulated by National Bank of Poland.

Did you know:

  • The most popular conversions of Polish zloty are PLN/euro PLN/US dollar PLN/Indian rupee PLN/Croatian kuna
  • the Polish zloty was introduced in 1 Jan 1995 (24 years ago).
  • There are 9 coins for the Polish zloty ( 1gr , 2gr , 5gr , 10gr , 20gr , 50gr , 1 , 2 and 5 ),
  • the Polish zloty has 6 banknotes ( 10 , 20 , 50 , 100 , 200 and 500 )

The Polish Zloty

Although located within the Eurozone, Poland is not yet a member of it. The Zloty is due to disappear in 2014 or 2015. Meanwhile, the official currency, the zloty, meaning "gold" in Polish, is still minted and continues to pay tribute to one in particular of the world's most well-known figures. After visiting 129 countries and meeting more than 500 million people across the globe during his 26-year papacy (1978-2005), Pope Jean-Paul II well merited his place on a banknote. See how the smiling face of the Pope on the 50 zloty bill shines out in contrast with the austere figures and grouchy-looking kings on the other bills.

When, on May 1st, 2011, Jean-Paul II was proclaimed a saint by his successor, Pope Benedict XVI, the Polish authorities minted a 1000 zloty gold coin in honor of the occasion.

1 Zloty = 100 Groszy, deriving from the medieval Latin word grossus, meaning large.

All coins in current circulation carry the symbol of a the white eagle, which forms the Polish national coat of arms. It is also possible to find, however, many commemorative coins that pay tribute equally to Marie Curie, Frédéric Chopin and the rest portraying all the country's historical but for the most part little known kings.

Converter Polish zloty

The PLN converter is provided without any warranty. Prices might differ from those given by financial institutions as banks, brokers or money transfer companies.

Last update:

7 8 9
4 5 6
1 2 3
0 . convert

Exchange rate of Polish zloty , currency of Poland

Use of the converter

Enter the amount to convert at the top and choose a second currency., You can also get the history of the price rate by clicking on the "convert" button., If you want to see the parity of the PLN currency with other currencies, go to the table " Polish zloty exchange rate" below.
Home: currency converter.

The last update to the Mataf PLN Currency Converter is dated from

1000 złotego polskiego
50b złotego polskiego
50 złotego polskiego
20 złotego polskiego
złotego polskiego
10 złotego polskiego
200 złotego polskiego
100 złotego polskiego