Currency of Morocco: Moroccan dirham د.م.


The Moroccan Dirham is the currency used in the following 2 countries: Morocco, Western Sahara. The code of Moroccan dirham is MAD. We use د.م. as symbol of Moroccan dirham. The Moroccan Dirham is divided in 100 santims. MAD is regulated by Central Bank of Morocco.

Did you know:

  • The most popular conversions of Moroccan dirham are MAD/US dollar MAD/euro MAD/UAE dirham MAD/British pound
  • the Moroccan dirham was introduced in 17 Oct 1959 (61 years ago).
  • There are 8 coins for the Moroccan dirham ( 5santimat , 10santimat , 20santimat , 50santimat , د.م.1 , د.م.2 , د.م.5 and د.م.10 ),
  • the Moroccan dirham has 4 banknotes ( د.م.20 , د.م.50 , د.م.100 and د.م.200 )

The Moroccan dirham

The Moroccan dirham (not to be confused with the Tunisian, Algerian or Libyan dinar) is divided into 100 santimat (or cents). Its name is derived from the Greek currency, the drachma. The dirham is also used as the name of the currency of the United Arab Emirates.

Within the country, you can find nearly 9 different coins that subdivide the dirham. These coins traditionally feature the reigning king, who has been Mohammed VI since 2002. But you can also find lots of coins with Hassan II, his father. You can also find him on all banknote denominations. It should be said that in Morocco, the king is more than an institution – he is the representative of the Muslim God on Earth.

Coins are very much used in Morocco. They are used extensively in souks, other «institutions» of the Maghreb countries where no price is set in advance. This custom is not only for tourists because the local population are also subject to the same regime.

These coins are also used to pay for taxi rides, which also have a variable rate, for water or orange juice carriers in Place Jemaa El Fna in Marrakech, etc.

Converter Moroccan dirham

The MAD converter is provided without any warranty. Prices might differ from those given by financial institutions as banks, brokers or money transfer companies.

Last update:

7 8 9
4 5 6
1 2 3
0 . convert

Use of the converter

Enter the amount to convert at the top and choose a second currency., You can also get the history of the price rate by clicking on the "convert" button., If you want to see the parity of the MAD currency with other currencies, go to the table " Moroccan dirham exchange rate" below.
Home: currency converter.

The last update to the Mataf MAD Currency Converter is dated from

10 dirhams marocains
dirhams marocains
200 dirhams marocains
100 dirhams marocains
20 dirhams marocains
50 dirhams marocains