Converter Egyptian pound

7 8 9
4 5 6
1 2 3
0 . convert

Currency Of Egypt

Use of the converter

Enter the amount to convert at the top and choose a second currency., You can also get the history of the price rate by clicking on the "convert" button., If you want to see the parity of the EGP currency with other currencies, go to the table " Egyptian pound exchange rate" below. , The last update to the Mataf EGP Currency Converter is dated from

The Egyptian pound

The least we can say is that Egyptians love the currency and money in general. With its 11 different values of banknotes and coins, it’s one of the countries that circulates as many denominations as possible. You’ll find coins as well as banknotes worth 5, 10, 25 and 50 piasters as well as 1 pound (=100 piasters).

Egypt is one of the countries where «bakshish» is also very commonly practiced. This name of this tipping practice comes from the word «pressa», a «donation» worth about 50 piasters, and tourists as well as local Egyptians give them out. It serves various service staff (drivers, guards, waiters, etc.) to complement their meager wages.

Egypt is a country that relies heavily on the Muslim religion. It’s also a country where history is rich because of its dynasties of pharaohs and its enormous monuments. It really couldn’t get away with anything else as far as representations on its banknotes. On most banknotes, you’ll find one of the many mosques of the country on one side, and on the other an homage to its history in monuments (Abu Simbel on the 1-pound note, the statue of Shephren on the 10-pound note and the Great Sphinx on the 100-pound note).

Exchange rate - Egyptian pound

currency Egyptian pound 1 EGP =
Indian rupee 1 EGP = 3.5719 INR
Philippine peso 1 EGP = 2.7547 PHP
Euro 1 EGP = 0.0495 EUR
Malaysian ringgit 1 EGP = 0.2363 MYR
Kenyan shilling 1 EGP = 5.7118 KES
Ghanaian Cedi 1 EGP = 0.2379 GHS
Pakistani rupee 1 EGP = 5.7977 PKR
Nigerian naira 1 EGP = 17.9278 NGN
Bangladeshi taka 1 EGP = 4.4698 BDT
Ugandan shilling 1 EGP = 199.3197 UGX
Indonesian rupiah 1 EGP = 735.5293 IDR
Chinese yuan renminbi 1 EGP = 0.3793 CNY
Nepalese rupee 1 EGP = 5.7561 NPR
Tanzanian shilling 1 EGP = 123.5690 TZS
Omani rial 1 EGP = 0.0213 OMR
Italian lira 1 EGP = 95.8659 ITL
Bitcoin 1 EGP = 0.0000 BTC
Albanian lek 1 EGP = 6.5106 ALL
Syrian pound 1 EGP = 28.5095 SYP
Tajikistani somoni 1 EGP = 0.4888 TJS