Currency of Turkey: Turkish lira ₺


The Turkish Lira is the currency of Turkey. The code of Turkish lira is TRY. We use as symbol of Turkish lira. The Turkish Lira is divided in 100 kuruş. TRY is regulated by Central Bank of the Republic of Turkey.

Did you know:

  • The most popular conversions of Turkish lira are TRY/US dollar TRY/euro TRY/Australian dollar TRY/Afghan Afghani
  • the Turkish lira was introduced in 1 Jan 2005 (14 years ago).
  • There are 6 coins for the Turkish lira ( 1Kr , 5Kr , 10Kr , 25Kr , 50Kr and 1 ),
  • the Turkish lira has 6 banknotes ( 5 , 10 , 20 , 50 , 100 and 200 )

The New Turkish Lira (Pound)

Ataturk, otherwise known as the Father of the Turks, is the man whose face is visible on the face of every Turkish banknote. He relinquished his real name, Mustafa Kemal, during the reign of the Ottoman Empire, and founded the first republic in Turkey in 1922. He initiated the separation of religion from state, the removal of the capital from Istanbul to Ankara, and the granting of the vote to women. He also replaced the Arabic alphabet with the Latin alphabet. Above all, "Gazi" ("Victorious"), it was natural to call him by the traditional nickname of Ataturk or Father of the Turks just like historical Turkish figureheads, because he was the originator of all the reforms that formed the foundation of Turkey as it is today.

Ataturk's profile is also featured on all the Turkish coins, both Kurus and Lira (the Turkish Pound). On the backs of the banknotes are found images of the tomb of Ataturk (on 1 lira and 5 lira bills), an old map of the Ottoman Empire (on the 10 lira bill) or else the Temple of Artemis, one of the 7 wonders of the world on the 20 lira bill and the famous Capadocce on 50 lira bills. The 100 lira bill bears a picture of the Ishak Pacha palace.

1 Turkish Lira/Pound = 100 Kurus, the name of which comes from gurûs, in Ottoman Turkish, deriving in turn from the medieval Latin word grossus, meaning large.

Converter Turkish lira

The TRY converter is provided without any warranty. Prices might differ from those given by financial institutions as banks, brokers or money transfer companies.

Last update:

7 8 9
4 5 6
1 2 3
0 . convert

Exchange rate of Turkish lira , currency of Turkey

Use of the converter

Enter the amount to convert at the top and choose a second currency., You can also get the history of the price rate by clicking on the "convert" button., If you want to see the parity of the TRY currency with other currencies, go to the table " Turkish lira exchange rate" below.
Home: currency converter.

The last update to the Mataf TRY Currency Converter is dated from

100 ลีราตุรกี
50 ลีราตุรกี
1 ลีราตุรกี
20 ลีราตุรกี
5 ลีราตุรกี
10 ลีราตุรกี
coin ลีราตุรกี